WK12 – Artist Interview – Timothy Cooper

wk12

An art piece that caught my attention this week was Something that means Something by Timothy Cooper.

I first thought that it is very unique and rare to see this kind of piece. I guess the good thing about modern art is that we get to see many difference kinds of pieces that we did not even think of before. I think this piece is one of them, something that we would never think of to be an art piece. It is no usual to see plates displayed in certain orders with no other decorations or pictures on it. Even the name of the piece tells us that this actually means something, but does not tell us what something is.

This art piece reminds me of blacksmith’s workshop. When I was in elementary school, our school used to takes us to blacksmith as a field trip. At that time, I was in Korea, so I could see many Korean traditional dishes or plates with old-fashioned–but very beautiful–drawings and decorations. These plates does not look like the ones I saw in Korea, but the way it is displayed and shape reminds me of these old memories.

I am glad that modern art is something that we can express ourselves with not only drawing and painting but also using other medium or materials. If the old time’s art was just sculptures and paintings on canvases, today’s art is something that has more variety to show ourselves with ways we want.

Leave a Reply

